Home Psychology of Singing

How to deal with people's dislike of your voice and training

Hey I've been working on my voice for about three years and Ken's program for about six months. I have learned how to sing in high full voice, by my own standards, pretty well. I feel I can sing Robert Plant repertoire decently (I am a high baritone) but my friends and my family constantly criticize my voice and my ambitions. I will post some videos of my singing but I am feeling pretty discouraged because my dream is to sing Steve Perry/Stevie Wonder stuff, etc. in a wedding band and I KNOW with a lot of hard work I could do it and make it sound great.

Comments

• matt53matt53 Pro Posts: 189
    Thanks so much, Ken. This means alot to me. What is most hurtful about my friends' criticism is that I spend about two hours a day with my warmups and practicing singing. I also play guitar and piano, but it seems that hitting a foul note or two in singing gets me a heck of alot more criticism than with playing an instrument.
  • JosephJoseph Pro Posts: 260
    Matt53, Keep at it. I too sound like a dying dog during my practise sessions and there's good reason for it. We a trying a build a voice. Firstly, we are stretching the EXTREMITIES. Secondly we are EXPERIMENTING. If you can sing Robert Plant decently, then wow, that's excellent. You should be striving to mimic anyone you desire to (perry,wonder,etc). I have my doubters to. But I've dreamed of singing ever since I cold remember and I'm not going to have anyone stop me even if it takes me the rest of,y life to get here. Good singing to ya. If you need support to battle against your doubters, this forum is the place to be. Everyone here can identify with you. This program and forum is brilliant.