Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Do I suffer from "American Idol Syndrome"?

Hey guys and girls! 

My name is Jean, which is sort of pronounced like 'John' ;-), I'm from New Zealand - and I've been making music since I was 12 years old, and trying to sing since I was 19 ... I'm now 25! Not quiet over the hill yet!

It's kind of frustrating at times, but I do my best to keep going. I have a very limited range (pleasant range that is! my voice is very 'heavy' although I'm a baritone.... almost like I don't have a head voice - I find sirens impossible to do!) - and I'm not sure if I should even be trying to do this anymore - but it's become a personal vendetta to conquer/master my voice! 

My favorite singers include Jeff Buckley, Jared Leto (30 Seconds to Mars), Pat Monahan (Train), and Chris Cornell (and many, many others!).

I've always loved making music - I started playing classical piano, moved on to contemporary music and songwriting, but I always feel like my voice is holding me back from writing the music I was put on earth to write!

I've decided to put my trust in Ken's system - mainly because of the fact that I hugely respect him as a musician (have you heard his guitar stuff!??) wow. And he's an incredible singer. I'm starting from scratch at Stage I.

I'll attach a couple of songs so you can tell me if I'm completely deluded and should just quit while I'm ahead (American idol syndrome)! I know that I'm flat on some notes, breathy on others, etc. but if you could let me know what you think I'd really appreciate some honest evaluations - please tell me if I've got absolutely no talent and should just start a plumbing apprenticeship! (I'm actually serious - I'd like to know if I am wasting my time and I know my friends are too nice to tell me the truth).

Anyway, all the best, and I hope to be seeing/hearing more from everyone on the forum!

Cheers for reading!

This was me back when I just started out (first time in studio singing!):