Singing Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy
Hey Dudes and Divas!

Welcome to Singer Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy. Enrolled KTVA vocalists have access to the full singer forums, self-registered members have access to limited areas of the KTVA singing forum. Register to learn more.

To enroll in Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Singing Lessons click here.

Warm Ups

PaulRPaulR Posts: 12Member, STREAMING PRO
Hey Guys, I am new here and also new to singing. I have zero experience and would like to know if my stomach is a bit sore after 30 or so minutes of diaphragmatic support does that mean i am performing exercises correctly or pushing too hard? Thanks

Comments

• stratmanstratman Posts: 247Moderator, Pro
    @PaulR as you experiment to get this right, you may experience tiredness of your stomach muscles. Ken teaches how to take a correct breath in his course. Support can be very difficult to get right and Ken teaches a two phase approach to ensure you do it right.

Personally, I thought I was doing support right but always felt quite sore and tired in my stomach. I thought this was normal but I found out I was doing it wrong. The KTVA 2.0 course has excellent material for getting this right. You can see Ken explain it and show it, then he demonstrates with one of his students.

I learnt using the older KTVA course and now do not experience any soreness of my stomach. I do get a bit fatigued though after 2-3 hours singing in a stretched chest mode i.e singing hard rock in what used to be the falsetto part of my range (you need huge support to sing that stuff)

Cheers
    Rob
  • PaulRPaulR Posts: 12Member, STREAMING PRO
    Thank You for your input, it is highly appreciated.. Feels so much like i am doing it right though. I will look over videos over and over once more. Do I need to continue the situp practice or is maybe that what is hurting me?
  • stratmanstratman Posts: 247Moderator, Pro