Singing Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy
Hey Dudes and Divas!

Welcome to Singer Forum by Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy. Enrolled KTVA vocalists have access to the full singer forums, self-registered members have access to limited areas of the KTVA singing forum. Register to learn more.

To enroll in Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Singing Lessons click here.

Black Smoke Rising - Greta Van Fleet

DiegoDiego Posts: 1,001Moderator, 2.0 PRO
@highmtn @doc_ramadani @HuduVudu @victortang @Vocality @Klaus_T @Sophia @Gaston_Jauregui @Furious_Phil @blondiewales @juanmarivley @Wigs @Michael4000 @LoneWolfRogue @iking @DevonMoore @cwcw @tinaalcorace @Ken Tamplin @Giraffy @Spyk @DogMeat @sagemacg

https://audiomack.com/song/diego-ktva/black-smoke-rising-1

Here's one of my favorites from GVF.
Hope you enjoy! The backing vocals are pretty easy for this one, but they sound really cool.
This is my first time belting a D5
Tell me what you think!

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Posts: 14,597Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro
    Nice job, Diego!
  • doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Posts: 3,124Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management
    Hello Diego,

good job. Yes, I enjoy it. And I enjoy to hear your chest voice in the upper range growing very well. One point: the inset with "And the ..." at 0:59 and later in the song is a little bit harsh and, for my taste, a little bit too loud.

Doc
  • Gaston_JaureguiGaston_Jauregui Posts: 996Moderator, Enrolled, 2.0 PRO
    sounds great @Diego !! growing really good!

try to use automation volume on the vocals and compression afterwards so the vocals sound more even, do you have any Waves plug ins?
  • DiegoDiego Posts: 1,001Moderator, 2.0 PRO
    @victortang
    I think this is a very good song to practice switching from headvoice to chest and so forth. There are so many changes lol. Some of the higher notes I did in chest voice except the notes at 2:54 - 3:14. I think the D5 was wether a really thin chest or mix.