Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Can you sing with a tongue-tie?

It recently came to my attention I have a tongue-tie and I can't stick out or move my tongue freely as much as I want to (for example I can't touch the top of my upper jaw with my tongue. If you're a person who has a tongue-tie, please share your experience with it! All the love <3

Comments

• Options
    HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    Is this a diagnosed condition?
  • Options
    doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hi @meggustah,

I am a medical doctor. The indication for an surgical resection (reduction) of the tongue-tie in normally done by a pine surgeon. Did you consult a surgeon? - It is normally only done on adults if the patient has severe problems with the tie.

Doc
  • Options
    meggustahmeggustah Member Posts: 12
    @HuduVudu I mean, I can post a pic and it's super obvious that I have it. I've been wondering why I feel like my tongue is always stuck to the bottom of my jaw and it's not that flexible, even if I have tried to stretch as far as I can.

@doc_ramadani Oh I'm so lucky! I've read I have to go to a ENT to check it out. I've also wondered why I stuttered from time to time where I am trying not to and being aware (I practice meditation every day). I ended up reading on that and it seems my "String" from the bottom of the jaw is big. Can you describe other severe problems so I can tell you if I experienced them?
  • Options
    ... seems my "String" from the bottom of the jaw is big.
    This is not the information that I found online.

It seems to me that having this condition would help you more than hurt you in singing, because it will keep your tongue pinned to the bottom of your mouth so that it is out of the way of the open throat and it would also help in keeping your consonants soft so that you can keep your throat open. I don't really see this as an impediment to singing.