Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Singing while playing guitar

Hello gang,

i'm moderately new here. I've been playing guitar for over 20 years, and singing plus minus 8 years, intensively last 3 years. Range From G#2 to D6. I've been watching Ken's videos for years, and only 3 weeks ago i purchased the course. Actually just singing while doing nothing else, i get outstanding results and the progress is just there. Now comes the rub, when I start to play guitar and sing, i tend to revert to my old singing habit. I guess it has something to do with the additional weight on shoulders and change of posture. So instead of properly connecting, i tend to belt when i get high.

Has anyone of you got to deal with this topic? I tried to do the warm ups with the guitar on (wasn't particularly enjoyable). How to solve it, besides focusing only on singing?

best wishes,
Robert

Comments

• Options
    samw2019samw2019 2.0 PRO Posts: 285
    Hello,

I'm new myself, I gotta say a D6 is incredible nice one. I've noticed in my starting learning I can't do the exercises with an instrument, I'm not sure why but probably because it's a new thing and concentrating on two things at once. I learnt some songs in my band playing bass and vocals before the course and it took me a while to get the bass right, then the vocals and then the work of combining them together. Then I started the course and concentrating and focusing on technique and the vox and bass are out again and I've got to relearn it sort of with the new technique in mind. I'm singing training without an instrument until the technique is ingrained myself.
    All the best
    Sam
  • Options
    doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hi @robertsolcansky,

Since you purchased the course you should get your forum status updated. Please find the instructions here.

You will get much more detailed feedback in the internal student area's of the forums.