Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Where to start?

Good morning from Virginia. My name is Steve. I'm 57. I have always wanted to sing since a kid as well as play the guitar. I started playing about 10 years ago and I'm satisfied at where I am. Singing is another issue. I have always been told I sing like crap. I can hum notes in tune, but can't seem to sing in tune. My voice is raspy and breaks. I tried the Weekend Warrior program for about 3 months a couple years ago and saw very minimal results. I gave up.
After thinking this through, I struggled with guitar for 3 years. Jumping around from YouTube video to YT video and never getting anywhere. I singed up for Paul Gilberts course through Artistworks. At first I did not put the proper time into the basics to really nail them before moving on to the "good stuff". I went back an spent the time. I do not want to play fast, I just want to play well for me.
OK, all that said to bring it back around to singing.
Today is day 1. I welcome opinions on where to start and how much to do, for how long before moving on. Do I just do the Diaphragm breathing without anything else for "X". Do I incorporate other videos? If so, which one? How do you know to move on?
These answers may be here someplace, I just don't understand the forum yet. I welcome any help to make this a success so I can stop singing in my head only.
Thank you in advance and I'm excited to be here.

Comments

• doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hi Steve,

my name is Marco (most call me Doc), I am 49 years old and I started the course 17 months ago. A warm Welcome to this nice learning environment. You will love these Forums.

Since you purchased the course you should get your forum status updated. Please find the instructions here.

First, to make it easier to have an overlook what is happening in the forums: