Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Straight Posture in Metal/Rock Singing

Hallo!

I am new to the KTVA, I was reading about posture and am thinking something else.

I have heard from a physical therapist that some abdomen contraction indeed helps to produce high notes such as Iron Maiden songs. That is why Bruce Dickinson and other singers tend to contract it during a show not only for performance but also for reaching high notes.

Do you agree with that?

Also, lots of singers sing in "unnatural" mode. Eg.: Lemmy (Motorhead), Klaus Meine (Scorpions), metal vocalists. Klaus Meine nowadays sing stopped in the middle of the stage but his head is pending towards one side.

Are these methods wrong? If so, why they're so successful in the voices they pretend to produce?

Comments

• Options
    WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Yes that is the concept of diagphramatic support. I think the other thing you are referring to is distortion when you mention unnatural mode. This can be done safely but only with very good support and after alot of training. Check out Ken's videos on both, they are on YouTube and he explains each of them 🙂
  • Options
    meirelesalexmeirelesalex Member Posts: 4
    Wigs said:

Yes that is the concept of diagphramatic support. I think the other thing you are referring to is distortion when you mention unnatural mode. This can be done safely but only with very good support and after alot of training. Check out Ken's videos on both, they are on YouTube and he explains each of them 🙂

Thanks. I will do check then for sure. But it is not only distortion I mean. Klaus Meine has a sort of very clean voice, but his head pends to a side. Also, James Dio does that. His head is always pending to a side. It intrigued me.
  • Options
    About Bruce Dickinson, he sings lots of times curved, i.e., not in a straight position.
  • Options
    Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406