Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!
Options

First time eval - All of me

rafcannrafcann 2.0 PRO Posts: 17
Hey gang,

I have been doing Volume 1 exercises for 2-3 months and have recently started a bit on Volume 2, without prior singing experience. I wanted to see how the exercises would translate to a song, so I downloaded Smule and tried to do "All of me" by John Legend. I still hide from my wife when doing exercises haha, so please be honest but constructive in the feedback, this is a very vulnerable moment!

My main question for the group is: how do you recommend one practices a song?

Can you pls critique? (cc @Wigs @jaclynser who have helped me with exercise feedback so far)

Link: https://www.smule.com/recording/all-all-of-me-of-me-of-me/2443419382_3596154498

Comments

• Options
    sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    The way I work on a song is I roll through it with the recording a couple times after I’ve listened to it a bunch then go line by line and write the words down. After I have the words written out then I go back and try to work the song out line by line. Once I feelive got a couple lines or a verse depending how much I feel I’ve gotten then I find a good (sounds like the orig) karaoke version and sing the parts I’ve worked out, record them and listen back until I feel like it’s coming together and do that for the entire song piece by piece
  • Options
    aniramaniram 2.0 PRO Posts: 52
    I think this song is really difficult for biginners. You sing it with your heart and that's great. Try working on your pitch, you hit a wrong note from time to time. I'm a beginner myself so I can't say much more
  • Options
    rafcannrafcann 2.0 PRO Posts: 17
    Thank u both for the feedback!

Just re_listened to the pitch section from Ken in Volume 1. It lays out perfectly how to work on pitch and how to apply learnings to song. Which I had disregarded as I was focusing on the throat and vowel mods. A lot of practice ahead of me, will update!