Home Vocal Health and Wellness

When I sing high it feels/sound like the sound is resonating in my inner ear. How to prevent this?

YelgathYelgath Pro Posts: 13
edited January 2014 in Vocal Health and Wellness
Hey guys, I just got the program after wasting a few months with SLS. I'm a guitarist and I've never sung at all prior to a few months ago when I bought the SLS program. The most significant obstacle I have encountered is that whenever I sing high (and by high I mean maybe the top third of my range), it sometimes feels like the inside of my ears open or something and the sound of my voice is resonating inside my ear. It's incredibly annoying and when it happens, I can't accurately hear myself. I basically have to stop whenever it happens. It doesn't always happen, but it happens often enough that it's a significant issue. I think the best way to describe it to compare it to what happens to your hearing when you yawn. If you've ever yawned and while yawning made the typical yawn sound, you might notice how the sound resonates differently. That's essentially what happens to me often whenever I sing high. Is this a common issue, and if it is, what am I doing wrong? 

Best Answer

Answers

• YelgathYelgath Pro Posts: 13
    I appreciate the answer. After doing a bit more research on this, I've identified what's happening to me as "autophony" due to the opening of my Eustachian tubes. I'll have a doctor check into it this summer, but I think it's more likely to be a bad habit in my technique that I have yet to identify and correct.
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Do have a physician check into it.  Your physician can let you know whether there are any things you need to be careful of, and lay your mind to rest about what is not a problem.

Bob

• KokonuhtKokonuht Member, Enrolled Posts: 658