Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

What note is at your vocal break?

What note or notes comprise your vocal break? Starting out as as a baritone, my segundo passaggio , or my break between chest voice and head voice, is around F4/F#4. Has it changed for any of you after singing for quite awhile. I’ve been working pretty hard on vocals for about 3 years and have increased my range and power. But my passaggio break still remains at F4/F#4. Should it stay the same or has anyone noticed that it has risen a few notes? I would be interested in knowing what you sing and where your passaggio break is.
Thanks, Bill

Comments

• Options
    TerenceTerence 3.0 Streaming Posts: 355
    Fitz said:

...has anyone noticed that it has risen a few notes? I would be interested in knowing what you sing and where your passaggio break is.
    Thanks, Bill

As a baritone like yourself, Segundo was F4 and has widened. I can still shift there but also lower and higher at G#4 and sometimes A4 at end of vol 3 workouts. As I get warmed up, it becomes possible to remain in chest higher before releasing into a mix. That was not the case before developing. F4 could still be the shifting note but feels more like an option within a widened range of options. Am currently working on gently stretching chest higher but it's a long term work in progress.

• Options
    FitzFitz 2.0 PRO Posts: 9
    It’s nice to hear from a fellow Baritone!