Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

Thank you Ken. No pain this morning!

Hi Everyone, so I am a pro singer (musical theatre, clubs, hotels etc) and I joined KTVA literally 4 days ago. This may sound weird but I’m gonna give you a bit of background. Hope you see it’s not only beginners that need guidance.

I’ve had numerous lessons since leaving drama school in 2003 but mostly group sessions since then on shows etc.

Tbh I have been struggling for years. I really thought my voice was going; pitch issues, forced power, general lack of technique and control. Then this year I was doing a show at Disneyland Paris and a vocal coach corrected me on my placement. Something that helped me a little. But, It got me thinking. So I put “ego” aside and thought to myself I think I need to go get some help/training. I started watching different videos all over YouTube to try and find someone that speaks/shows sense.

I won’t just go and get a singing teacher as (I’ve been let down numerous times in the past with people giving me half information.)

Eventually I found Ken. I honestly, have never met someone who is more thorough and clear, that presents an ease of sound that I would like to emulate, especially in the upper register.

Anyway, I gig a couple of times of week and last night I took 2 of the concepts I have re-learnt through Ken’s course (I have been doing incorrectly maybe forever). These were the vowel modifications (Big Problem for me, still working on these obviously) but more importantly in my case was diaphragm support. ( I have been doing this half right for years)

Folks, coming from a pro singer. OMG. I haven’t sounded so good… EVER!

I’ve been hoarse for a couple of weeks as I knew I had damaged my voice doing some comedy character singing. But even though I had this problem I was able to sing probably the best I ever have😊 and I’m talking full out.