Home SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!
Options

How to get stared as a professional

AltariqAltariq Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 42
Hi everyone, im Altariq Abraham im new to this vocal program and when I went to the CD about the record companies and getting songs copywrited I found that there is sooo much knowledge about the music industry and it is a bit overwhelming. I was wondering if anyone more advanced in that area could explain to me how to get started professionally once Ive mastered the voice. Im a singer and a writer of lyrics. Which are the highlighted areas that I should really see to rise as fast as possible.

Comments

• Options
    highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357
    edited March 2014

This is a HUGE topic.  It's hard to come up with any kind of simple answer. 

Everybody has to start somewhere.

Are you gigging already?  If not, then find a venue and get your foot in the door.

Become the best singer that you possibly can.  Take your very best songs and record some serious tracks. 

Market your music on the internet and get a following.  A really BIG following. 

Get out there and gig.

Get paid.

Go from there.  See what happens.  Adapt and Overcome.

Bob

• Options
    AltariqAltariq Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 42
    Hi Bob thanks for the advice i'm actually not gigging yet I was hoping to finish the course first. After that though it gets cloudy as to how to start gigging. If I go on BMI.com and register as a songwriter will my songs be safe there? It says it doesn't copyright the songs it just makes a record of it. I haven't started recording or anything because im waiting to find the best way to insure my song are safe. Can you explain how to market my songs once they're ready?
  • Options
    highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357

How to market your songs is the fifty-billion dollar question everybody wants to know the answer to.