Home Psychology of Singing

High notes in front of the audience

Hello,
I've been practicing with volume 2 for 4 months.
Since I improved and made huge progress with my singing and especially high/head notes, I took the risk to pick more difficult songs but when I arrived on stage, I suddently lost faith in myself and in my high notes and as a result they were much weaker than during the rehearsals.
What I realise is that there is a huge gap between performing on stage and rehearsing at the school.
There are the microphones, (different from the ones we rehearse with) and the mood of the audience, it is like I can feel it..
That was the thought of the day.
Good day to all of you.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Good lesson, @Joyce.

We do that to ourselves.  That's why we just have to get out there and do it.  And then get out there and do it again.  Next time we will at least remember we survived the last time, and, oh yeah, this time I won't get distracted by the moving targets of the performance experience.

We gain experience through our training and also through the lumps we take when our nerve fails us. 

Yes, the mood of the audience.  Are they all judging me?  Do they all think my voice is terrible?  Do they all want me to fail?

Of course, this is our own self-doubt.  The audience actually wants us to succeed.  But then, there is also the "Gladiator in the arena" aspect, and the fact that we can fail on a difficult note sometimes has them at the ready to see us fall. 

That's why we want to rely on being well-trained and well-rehearsed.  So we can go into autopilot when the mind starts racing.  Muscle memory can save the day, especially when we allow ourselves to be scared stiff!