Home The Singer's Lobby

Critique of my singing

Hello, everyone! I have been following this forum and KTVA work for few months now and I have to say that I'm planning on joining you and buying the course because I really want to progress with my singing, although I have been doing it for 5-6 years now, because I believe that I still have a lot to learn. 

As far as I know by now, I am a baritone with somewhere little above 3 octaves of range, starting from C#2 and up to F#5, if I did that correctly (measuring it).

I grew up on rock, grunge and metal, so my vocal role models were and still are guys like Layne Staley, Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder, because I think I have a similar voice like them. 

Anyway, I would really appreciate it if some of you would listen to few of my songs and tell me how I fare with my singing and my voice's virtues and flaws. 

Bard's Song (Blind Guardian cover) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHqOgwGvH0Y

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Hi, @Chavez,

Thanks for saying hello after hanging around for a while.  It's nice to meet you.

I like your song Omega Love.  Your voice sounds good.  You have a nice character in your voice.  Did you collaborate over the internet with the other musician?  It's a cool tune and your voice sounds comfortable in that range and genre.  Black: The head voice at 0:33 seems to need to match up a little closer to the timbre of the chest voice, or if you want it to flip you could make that a little more obvious. 

You're doubletracking or digitally doubling the voice.  That does mask a bit of your actual voice.  It sounds good on the recordings, though.  

Bard's Song: Nice.  Good G#4.  Nice harmonies, and yes, doubling.

Got Me Wrong: Recording of the voice is a little muffly compared to the other tunes.  The harmonies at the end of the song sound a bit discordant.