Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

Hello

My name is Doug, and I'm not ashamed to say that I'm 58 years old. I don't act like it, and most people are amazed when I tell them my age. I started playing guitar when I was 13. Not enough fingers and toes, but if my calculations are correct, that was about 45 years ago. I don't want to bore anyone, but I'll try to squeeze 45 years into a nutshell. I have a nice singing voice and I've always loved singing. I was lead singer in a couple of small-time rock bands, won talent contests, etc., etc. The problem is, I am self-taught and I really don't know how to sing...correctly.

I grew up in Michigan, and when I got out of high school, my brother and I jumped into his truck and moved to Southern California; Orange County to be exact. I wanted to pursue rock music and thought "Californy is the place I otta be." It was tough, very tough, but we finally made friends and got on our feet so to speak. I was a very foolish young man who unfortunately, got involved in drugs. It was bad, really bad and drugs nearly cost me my life. When I hit rock-bottom, I met Jesus Christ and He pulled me up out of that mess.

After that, every time I picked up my guitar it reminded me of the drugs, so I put my guitar away for roughly 20 years. Long story short, I had a big hole inside and finally came to realize it's music...I need music in my life. I made a promise to God that this time around, I would write songs and sing to worship and glorify Him. About 4 years ago, I bought 2 nice upside-down guitars (I'm left-handed) a Taylor acoustic, and a Les Paul. I built a small studio in an extra bedroom, equipped it with Pro Tools and some middle-of-the-road accessories, and started writing contemporary Christian songs.