Home Off Topic
Options

How to speak to favour open throat technique.

Hello.

I'm about to move onto volume 2. Just want to make sure I'm doing everything in vol 1 right before moving on. I do not want to send all my questions at once so, here is one that's been on my mind for a while:
 Some of the local coaches I studied with in Bs As, Argentina before KTVA, told me I should speak in the same way I sing to favour my training because we use the same instrument to do both things, and if I speak 14hours a day in one way and then I sing in a different way, hte training and improvement gets slow. So, they told me to: to speak slowly and making pauses, not to speak without enough air, to speak a note or so above the note I always speak in, to use the same resonance I use for singing. 
My question is: Besides these aspects I already know and put into practice, what can I add to speak in the same way I sing with open throat technique and not sound akward when speaking? I mean akward because I picture myself speaking with a very open mouth and my tongue in a concave position but I imagine maybe you coaches speak in a particular way to favour the technique which is not akward.

Thank you. so much.

Sebastian.

Comments

• Options
    highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357

@sebastiancelesner,

I asked Ken about this one.  Here is what he had so say:

It's really more about support (and relaxation in the throat) we use when we speak.  You are not going to speak like you sing.  Singing has at least 3 - 5 times the intensity and cordal vibrating resonance than when we speak.  So unless you plan on walking around talking like Michael Jackson with support, these theories you and any previous coaches you might have had are not tenable.  

All the Best.

Bob

• Options
    mkeymontmkeymont Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 43