Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Total novice?

Hi!

I've had a long time dream of learning to sing. That all sounds good and optimistic but I'm over 30 and have zero musical training beyond teaching myself to play 2 or 3 songs on a guitar (and not particularly well at that).

Is this a good program for someone like me? The students on the videos song amazing of course but I'm really starting from zero. My impression from reading some posts here is that most are coming from a background of singing or some formal training.

I'm not lazy and rather am very goal oriented. I don't doubt the skill of KT, just whether this is the right place to start and what sort of results or progress are realistic. I'd rather someone said hey, if you work tirelessly for, say, a year then you'll be pretty good at karaoke...rather than saying I could sing competently for some garage band in 6 months!

Comments

• streeterstreeter Pro Posts: 679
    edited January 2016
    It's probably a plus because you have developed no bad habits. If you put in the hour a day 5-6 days a week, replicating what Ken is showing you, you'll go far. Try and use the forum as much as possible in order to get feedback on how well you are doing the exercises... 99 percent of the first 6 months will go towards developing the strength and muscle memory in order to develop good habits, growing both tone and range.

A lot of the Pro singers here have had previous training or worked out stuff for themselves but if you buy the course and gain access to the private parts of the forum, you'll see Ken giving one on one tuition trying to break their Bad habits. Ken basically has to press the reset button on everyone. Including Gabby, Tori or whomever you have seen on Youtube. You' also get to see them being rebuilt.