Home The Singer's Lobby

Sounding like a Monkey

Hey Guys!
Hope your singing journey is going well!
I just have a quick question "specifically to those who have been in this very same position".
I am a drummer who has been doing the program for about a week now and I am already seeing mad improvement in my voice control. I decided to record myself to catch any mistakes I may or may not be making. In regards to pitch, breathing & positioning I am fine. It's when I listen to the quality of my voice... I don't sound pretty. I understand it has ONLY been a week, but this has been an issue since singing in my very first choir. So I guess my question would be, how long should I be expecting to sound like a monkey rather then a singer. Also any tips to get me out of this slump?
Appreciate any and all advice!

Cheers!; and Happy singing

Dillon

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    @Martino_Music,

Hey, Dillon!

First of all, welcome to a fellow Drummer/Ken Tamplin method vocal student.

We've all gone through self-loathing regarding the sounds of our own voice. That's just part of the process. Get to know it. It's going to change, and so will your loathing. You'll even get to the point where you are shocked when you hear something that's you, and you like it before you realize "Oh! That's Me!"

DO use the bright sound. DO keep the throat open. DO learn to push down on the diaphragm more, the higher you go, to increase support. DO practice every day. DO believe that you are really going to like what is going to happen to your voice, including the tonality and the sound.