Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!

Ghost - If You have Ghosts (Acoustic Vocal Cover)

MattP75MattP75 Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 40
Hello,

I've been doing the KTVA course for about 13 months, and this is my first attempt at recording a cover song.
I've left the original vocal in as I couldn't find a vocal free backing track of this particular song, but the vocals are fairly well hidden for most part.

My take is unedited and fairly raw, I'm interested in getting feedback on technique for the most part.
If anyone gets a chance to listen, let me know what you think.

https://soundcloud.com/user-460845734/ghost-if-you-have-ghosts/s-2fjhl

Thanks

Matt

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    Nice Job, @MattP75,

Nice tone, good pitch. Consistency in the breath is there, good support. Nice and bright.

At 1:37 could use more support on that line.

Good job.

Bob
  • MattP75MattP75 Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 40
    Thanks @highmtn for the feedback.

Yeah, I struggled a bit with that sustained note on the "Ee" vowel at 1:37, I've been trying to open the throat as much as possible and modify into "Eh", but then I lose support and the note cracks.

To be honest, of all of the vowel sounds in the course, I find "Ee" the hardest one to get to grips with, I still struggle with it in the Vol3 audio workouts.

Cheers

Matt
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited September 2016
    "Real" on an F#4 can be hard to get into and sustain. It's almost an "ih" sound on your recording, which is to be avoided and substituted when possible. Vowel transitions up high are tough, so you want to center the vowels around whatever vowel is dominant there.

I am Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeal

becomes

Ah-ee ehmrayeeeeeeeahl