Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

Hello From Full Sail University ( Florida )

Jake_____ClarkJake_____Clark Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 10
Hey everyone, my name is Jake. I'm a music production student at full sail university. I just moved to Florida to start this school I'm about 3 months in. I'm originally from Maryland and I've always wanted to sing. I tried teaching myself and found I was more than likely doing things wrong, Then i started looking through different Youtube videos and such. You can find a lot of good information on youtube but I was never sure if i was doing things right. It didn't sound like I was and I just overall was never finding results, then again I never stuck to a solid practice schedule, I thought it was just a learn and do thing. I had a bunch of female friends who could sing great without ever having a lesson so I thought I could do the same. Eventually I joined chorus my senior year of high school and started doing musical theatre. It helped but I never found anything or did anything that made me shine the way I knew I could. My tone always sounds awful to me personally so I was kinda hopeless. I still sang in front of people weather it was at different talents shows, or solos in the musicals. I eventually became hopeless and decided not to take the cheap way out and I wanted true results. So thats what led me here. I saw some youtube videos and other videos of what some people could do just after 7 or8 months and I knew thats what I needed to do. so I saved up, bought the DVDs and now I'm here. Im about a little over a week int my program,I still have trouble finding how to engage my diaphragm or even if I'm doing it right, I was a swimmer in high school so I can hold my breath and breath in water but i am unaware if it's the same concept. I also still have problems with tone but again this is only my 2nd week so I'm optimistic. I love rock music, old and new I love genres like Punk and Metal but I also love just straight hard rock. Some of m