Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Hello Amazing community I'm new here!

Hello Everyone !

I'm Jack, I was mainly a guitarist for many years but turned out I have a solid voice so I became singer/lead guitarist kind of a la Gary Moore, Richie Sambora, Stevie Ray etc... inspired by all those lead guitarists and singers.
I'm a full time musician.

I've tried working on my voice with several vocal coaches, all teaching Classical singing. Don't get me wrong I'm not against it but what it did is that it changed my intonation and I don't sound how I'd like to anymore.
My first teacher was terrible and I got formed nodules on my cords due to tear and wear (I also teach a lot of guitar, so I speak a lot).
I did speech therapy a while ago and for some time now nodules have disappeared.
With the help of the other teachers (2) I can say now I have a decent base, that's where I decided that it could be OK to learn from someone even without their physical presence since I can understand what they are trying to convey.

However, I'm afraid to injure myself again (I have kind of a trauma now) and that's why I'd like your help on how to approach Ken's content and method. I'd like to know from your experience how would you:

- Learn the content and practice it?
- Can learning without a teacher's feedback right in front of you work ?

Thanks a lot for reading, and I can't wait to get started :blush:

Comments

• Jack_haddadJack_haddad 2.0 PRO Posts: 6
    Sorry for the typos, was writing really fast lol.
  • Furious_PhilFurious_Phil Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,421
    Hey Jack... I can tell you that during the 80's I really blew out my voice hard trying to do DLR screams at full voice, due to a crappy PA system. This left me with nothing but the whistle of air for any note beyond maybe E4, and sudden vocal strictures when I happened to push too hard.