Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

The new 'old' guy!

themavthemav 2.0 PRO Posts: 6
Hey there singers! I browsed and posted feedback to a few other intros to get some ideas of how to introduce myself.
I was a professional musician (full-time travel and primary income) for about 9-10 years.
That was from age 25 to 35. Now I'm 54.

Though I sang 4-5 hours a night, and backed up other singers with my guitar and keyboards, I packed it in @ 35 when I got custody of my two daughters. I had to start a career that would allow me to raise the girls and provide for them better than my musician income would.

Now I have my own software company and I'm trying to work my way into retirement, so I can spend a lot more time in my recently built studio. I've been doing MIDI tracks since MIDI was invented, but I've rarely had opportunity to record myself singing. Back in my road days, we used to connect a cassette recorder to a send off of the board, and listen to that, but it too easy to blame 'quality of recording', although I must admit I think I was better then, than now, simply from doing it all the time. Still, I was always sure that I was disadvantaged from not having any instruction, like I'm getting now from Ken.

So it's 'back to the beginning' in my studio. Breaking old habits and learning new, good habits.
I'm no longer on a path to be a rock star. I just do it because I love it, and the pressure of trying to please audiences, agents, or whomever, is gone.

If I can be helpful to anyone, I'm always willing. However, don't count on me for any great vocal advice just yet. I'll probably be more full of questions than answers, LOL. So with that, I'd better get back to Ken. I'm still in volume 1, Lip Drills. :-)
Cheers and best wishes to all!

Maverick

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited April 2018
    One of my favourite things is seeing people learning new things throughout their lives, and I love that you have this new goal that you're pursuing. :)