Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Is my vocal technique right?

tamkaptamkap Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 4
edited May 2018 in Vocal Health and Wellness
Hi everyone
I've been singing for the past three years and I've realised that i can't sing for an hour everyday for more than a month at a stretch without tiring or losing my voice. I also begin to lose my voice if I sing for two hours a day for more than 3-4 days at a stretch.
There's also a vein in my neck that pops out everytime I hit a high note, which is probably because I strain when I hit them.
Here's a link to a video that I recorded recently, can you listen to the vocals, mainly the end where I hit the high notes, and help me understand what I'm doing wrong and how to correct it please?
https://youtu.be/huAJmTiuh40

Comments

• Hi! I thought that was great. :) I'm just a beginner here, and someone knowledgeable will give you good advice soon. One thing I did notice straight away though was that you raise your chin when you do the high notes. You do it a lot at the end, where you mentioned you felt you were having trouble. You could try just singing a "laa" note and very carefully tilt your head back, and you should be able to feel and hear the detrimental effect on your voice as you do so. I think if you aim to keep your neck in a balanced, centred position, it should stop your throat from becoming constricted.
  • tamkaptamkap Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 4
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    @tamkap,

To answer your question, your vocal technique is not right. You have a great voice, but you haven't learned to use it right, yet. You are going to be awesome when you train your voice to work under more control.