Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

I just took a leap

I have been playing around with singing for many years now. I decided this year to get serious about the actual craft.I bought a few books and practiced for a few months. Something wasn't there. I ordered/downloaded the course and it just started happening when I switched off of the previous breathing techniques to this simple version on the video. Using the AH!!! I can get a total range that is awesome. I can't get as high with other vowels or the mums, googs, gugs,ect.. that I have used in previous methods, but I have never heard them in an actual song. If someone knows why those sounds are usefull in other courses, I would be interested. They seem to close the throat down.

I hope to improve my tone to one of those type that works with about anything, if that is possible, and improve my middle range.

Also, I opted for the download because I figured I had waited long enough. Is there any way I can get the videos to paly on my blu ray player? My player wants to connect to the internet but I am not going to do that. I am not running any wireless.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited August 2013

Hi, tennis.

Welcome to the KTVA forums. The mums, gugs, and googs (and the nay, nay, nays) are not used in KTVA.  KTVA teaches you to sing on vowels.  Other methods depend upon building pressure with consonants to try to "pop" the notes up to make you think you're extending your range.  That's not going to work with real singing, because singing takes place on sustained vowels.

Consonants are de-emphasized in KTVA.  You have to master the vowels, especially the AH, to master your voice.  There is a lot more to KTVA than just this, but it is in reference to your question about the gugs and googs.

Bob

• tennistennis Pro Posts: 22