Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Vocal recovery after bronchitis

Hi guys , just been layed up with a nasty bug which became bronchitis. I couldn't practice at all fr four days and I still have bronchitis (not as bad as it was) My question is, I have a gig this weekend and I want to recover my voice as healthily And quickly as possible. I had just made a lot of progress before getting sick but I'm still fairly new to programme. Any tips or advice would be great thanks . Davo

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

Bronchial problems are among the few illnesses that Ken says to rest, rather than try to "sing-through" the illness.  So this time, you probably want to rest the voice and hold off, only warming up after you are well, or just before the gig.  If you're still sick when the gig comes, you may have to let somebody else carry your vocal load.

For now, be aware that the nasty coughing that happens when you have bronchitis is VERY rough on your vocal cords. Every time you clear your throat or cough, you are scraping your vocal cords together, which will irritate them all the more.  Even when it's just a tickle in the throat that makes you keep trying to cough the tickle out, that will continue to irritate the cords. 

So go to your doctor and see if you can get something to help you to resist coughing.  The less you cough, the sooner your cords will recover. 

Take good care of yourself!

Bob

• davo165davo165 Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 62
    Bugger, ok thanks bob :(
  • SemiSemi Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 153
    edited October 2014
    Hi @highmtn,