Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Greetings from Toronto, Canada... and looking forward to good things from this program

Hi everyone, 

I have been singing casually for 25 years.  I've done some acoustic guitar + vocals on open mic nights.  I've also written some of my own stuff, but my melodies have been limited by my range.  The same goes for my covers.

I tried two "in the flesh" singing coaches.  My first coach told me I'm a baritone, the second helped me understand I was pulling chest.  

I had to stop lessons for a bit when I had kids, and I set a goal for myself this summer to put up a few covers onto Youtube and get myself back into singing.  It's gotten my kids singing a lot too!

My first few videos are entirely in my original chest register, and I found myself going flat at times if a note made me struggle.

I started scouring Youtube channels for vocal techniquess, and that eventually led me to KTVA.  

I watched all of volume 1 in a few hours and was blown away how much open throat technique extended my chest range.  
I started singing stuff I've wanted to for years, and got a bit wrapped up in the enjoyment of that for the next few weeks (instead of learning and practising the technique like I probably should have!).

I started putting some more covers onto my Youtube channel.  Where I've struggled most are with songs that don't easily transpose or stylistically adapt to my current chest range.  

My buddy asked me to sing a Cat Stevens tune, and I picked Father and Son.

It's been about three weeks of struggle with that tune and it's brought me back down to the ground.  I watched volume 1 again last night and now plan to do the lessons with some discipline.

Here are some things I want to work on:

1) keeping my throat open - some consonants and dipthongs really close off my throat and it leads to strain