Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

The lip roll

Hi you guys!
I'm fairly new at the KTVA, and struggling with the lip roll. I can make it work for one or two notes and then the lips won't do the roll'y thing anymore, my lips just tenses up. I recon that is a common problem, but what do I do about it? Do I just keep going and sing the scale without the lip roll, hoping that one day I will get it or what? Any tips on how to make it work for me??

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

@ninak,

It took me forever to get the hang of the lip roll.  I've done many other courses before doing KTVA and had troubles with them before, as well.  Ken tells us not to cheat and put our hands on our face to make it possible to burble.

In the other courses I had taken, in addition to the lip rolls, there were also tongue rolls.  My first several months with KTVA I just did tongue rolls instead.  Yes, I was a cheater.  But no more.

Finally, I decided to do what Ken said, and just keep trying until I GOT it.  It's really a matter of relaxation.  That's one reason they are so good for you... You HAVE TO relax your facial muscles to do them right.

One of our students suggested using lip balm so you don't have to keep licking your lips.  I tried it, but that didn't work for me.  Your mileage may vary.  You DO have to keep your lips moistened, with plenty of water.  I now lick my lips periodically during burbles.