Home Psychology of Singing

Great Difficulty Letting Go Of Tension In The Chest - Anxiety Problem?

sam.ksam.k Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 41
Hi All,

I've been doing KTVA for about 6 months now. The primary reason I bought this course is because I had really poor tone and no vibrato, my voice always sounded really strained and shaky.

From the start I have guessed that tension was a problem. The random pattern of the shakiness that I hear in my voice is exactly like the random pattern of shakes you get from any tensed and straining muscle. You know exactly the shaky pattern I am talking about. Clench your fist, forearm and bicep as hard as you can, notice how it shakes, and there are semi-random bursts of larger shakes along with the constant smaller shakes. If I sing a single note as steady and constant as I can then, in the volume and pitch of the note, I can hear that same pattern of constant small shakiness punctuated at random with larger bursts. Despite my voice being better in many other ways, this aspect has not changed at all over the 6 months that I have been doing KTVA.

I have read elsewhere (another singing advice site) that some people can have muscle tension issues that they have been unable to feel for years because it is so habituated that the brain has totally switched off from the feeling. I am not sure, but I think this applies to me.

During all of volume 1 I thought I was doing fine with letting go of tension as instructed, but I didn't make any progress on my strained tone and shakiness. I had everything else together so I thought that maybe I was expecting results too soon.