Home Favorite Music, Vocal Movies, and Videos

A Few Questions From a Beginner About Sting and Phil Collins

-AJ--AJ- Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 14
Hey, what's up. I'm brand new to Ken's course, so I'm just trying to get my head around a lot of it, and I have a long way to go. But I wanted to throw out a couple of questions about a couple of singers I'm interested in that Ken doesn't seem to have covered, Sting and Phil Collins.

When it comes to Phil Collins, I tried to come up with the best examples I could of my questions, and settled on these two songs:

Genesis - Just a Job To Do

Phil Collins - I Don't Care Anymore

I don't think I even know the correct terminology yet, but I'm curious about what he's doing, and whether it's something I should emulate, or whether he's "doing it wrong". Especially when he goes up into a very loud and aggressive, distorted or "raspy" sound as he does on the chorus of "Just a Job To Do" and especially at the end of "I Don't Care Anymore", where he sounds like he's practically screaming. Is that good or bad? I like Collins as a singer, and I'm curious for any technical insight people (or Ken) might have about him. He seems to move around between a lot of different approaches in the same song, from a more pure tone to falsetto, to the aforementioned "yelling" (if that's the right word).

Sting (I think) is a bit more straightforward, but even more of a challenge:

The Police: Roxanne

In his case, I'd be interested in any insights into his style. I find it impressive that he can sing that high with that much of a solid sound and clarity, without falsetto, seemingly with ease. Recognizing that early on Bob Marley was a big influence.

In both cases, I'm just looking for any insights or direction about what they're doing in case I want to study them more closely. Thanks in advance for any answers.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354

@aahladas,