Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Issues with keeping up practice.

Hello all

I have been doing this course for about 8 months and am at volume 2.

I practice regularly and enjoy it thoroughly but I feel that I have many many off days. I struggle to get 6 strait days of practice as sometimes my voice just wont hit notes right or I struggle on chest to head changeover or at the highs of chest voice. often times on these days my voice feels tired.

I would like to be practicing more and I feel progress is being limited by my vocal strength.

So I think I am probably oversinging or am definantly doing something wrong. 
A usual practice generally involves running through the workout and then singing 3 to 5 songs. (generally start on corey taylors wicked game and finish with something like unforgiven 2 by metallica)
I sing and do the workout at a far louder than talking volume but in no way yelling.

I always back off if I feel a sharpish (not painful but if i were to push it it would be) feeling but generally I would continue to practice but with less projection. should this be a marker to finish my session?

from reading through the forum I feel I may currently have swollen vocal cords as the symptoms seem to be the same.
I also learnt through reading here that the workouts are full workouts with a warmup at the start and not just a warmup for you to then practice singing after.

so in summary am I oversinging?
what can I do to balance my practice between the kvta workouts and actual songs so I can practice more regularly?

thankyou for your time.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited April 2015

Hi, @ruddisnot!

I'll try to give you reasonable answers.  You're asking a lot of good questions, so I'll give it my best shot to give you some good advice.