Home VOCAL DEMONSTRATIONS for the Bold!

My first post

Hello everyone, I bought the course some time ago and I've been taking lessons with a teacher that uses Ken's method, and I have to say the improvement is unbelievable, I used to take lessons with a teacher that taught Bel canto-David Jones method and even though it wasn't bad, it just wasn't what I was looking for, and I had a lot of tension because of that ng tongue position....but anyway I've been doing the program for 5 months and I am now in volume 2, support has been kind of hard for me because of IBS (pain associated with it) and getting rid of all those Bel canto ideas and old habbits is complicated too, but I think I have accomplished that. I am not really into rock, so belting extremely chesty notes is not my goal but I would still like to belt with a lighter quality, without it sounding like headvoice. I am going to post a sample of something I was singing while I was warming up, I made it as bright as I could and is not loud, I find it easier to sing at a moderate volume, kind of like you're holding back...I think it's kind of brassy though. Oh and sorry about slurring the words, I am introducing consonants very slowly.

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited May 2014

@NicoMateo

It's good that you've gotten to a point in KTVA where you are ready to start posting demos.

The noise and voice in the background is very distracting. It covers your voice partially and makes it hard to hear the details in your voice.

It may just be the quality of the recording, but to me it sounds like you still need to brighten the tone.  It's a little covered-sounding to me.  David Jones has his students use a darker tone and has them round the lips.  KTVA would have you open the mouth and throat much more and make the tone ping more. 

Could you re-record your voice in a room without all the conflicting sound on the recording?