Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum
Options

How do I practice singing in university accommodation?

I'm just starting out with seriously practicing singing and I imagine I'd need to be able to produce loud weird noises and I'm self conscious about my flatmates and people from other flats hearing it. I probably wouldn't appreciate if someone else did it either. So any alternatives? Any other student singers managing? Thanks

Comments

• Options
    highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,357
    @koliko987,

Is there a school of music at your university? If so, could you possibly have access to one of their student practice rooms? Those are usually just small, private, individual rooms that have a piano and a music stand. The rooms are soundproof. It's usually a building that is nothing but these practice rooms, maybe four stories high. You might find some of these rooms are vacant at times that you could go there.

Many students practice in cars. You can sit in a parked car at some location where no one will be disturbed by you and you won't be distracted by anyone else. A car has the disadvantage of having to be seated. It is best to be standing while practicing or performing singing, because that is more effective for your breath support.

You can't pay sufficient attention to both your singing AND your driving, so driving while rehearsing is not advised, both for driving safety reasons, and because your singing practice needs your full attention as well. You can only give partial attention to your voice if you are driving, so you get less from your time spent practicing.

You might look for some empty classrooms or auditoriums, that might be available during some of the times you are not in class yourself. Possibly even a local church that is not in use during the week might let you sing in a room that is not in use.