Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Rough sounding voice

Hello. I've been working the program since Jan 16, 2016. I've been having a rough sounding voice in the mid range. A scratchy sound like I'm getting sick or have a cold. Even after being warmed up. Am I doing something wrong? Singing too much? Is this vocal damage?

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited April 2016
    Hi, @KathyG,

I'm sorry you're experiencing a rough area with your voice.

It's most likely not vocal damage, but if you haven't had any throat issues (sore throat, coughing, or laryngitis) then you may have been singing with too much volume in your mid voice.

That is an area that is easy to stress, and you will probably need to throttle back the volume, especially in that range. That is the area that we are working when we stretch chest voice. When you are stretching chest voice you want to be gentle with the notes, and give preference to singing just a little too light, rather than over singing just a little too heavily. As your voice gains strength, you can lean into the notes a little more, still giving care to avoid oversinging.

When you get to volume 3, Ken goes over some ways to cut back the force of your air when you sing. It seems too simple to be true, but what he shows you really works, and from that point forward, you should use those methods to reduce the force of your singing breath. In the mean time, just exercise a bit more caution and try to avoid oversinging.

Another thing that can contribute to a scratchy sound in that range is if you are not implementing the vowel modifications. As you get into higher ranges, the notes tend to begin to expand, causing what is called "splatting".