Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Drumming, and singing

I play quite a few instruments, and of all that I play, drumming is the only instrument where I have to be seated. Ken says you can lose up to 35% of your singing power when seated.
Also I am an aggressive drummer. I like to be a show off lol.
Are there any tips/tricks for drummers specifically when it comes to playing/singing?
I'm worried about breath support with all the moving around that Im doing in a seated position

Comments

• highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    You'll figure it out. It may be a little harder or it may not. I struggled with getting the actual "feel" of support for a while until I really knew what I was doing. I'm a drummer, and I'm actually most at home singing when seated. I do a little bit of keyboard when I'm practicing a song or exercises, and again, I have plenty of abdominal support when I sit at a keyboard. If I stand and play a guitar, it feels easier for me to support, possibly because I learned support sitting down at a drum set.

I would have off days where I just couldn't find support and then I would stumble upon it and have a great night. Next night I wouldn't be able to find it to save my life. Now it's no big deal, and sometimes I play harmonica on a rack while I sing and play drums. Other times I might chew gum, although I don't recommend that.

Bottom line is that once you have support firmly planted in your muscle-memory, it will integrate into all of the other combinations of coordinations you have to have under control when drumming, including when getting aggressive with your playing. You'll be able to add showing off with your voice to showing off with your drumming.