Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS

Tips on writing vocal melodies/vocal lines

AlvisAlvis Enrolled, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 117
Hello my fellow KTVA students, I have a question for you!
As I'm now working on some original songs with my band, I'd like to know if there's any resources/tips on how to come up with good vocal melodies/vocal lines. I do have Ken 2.0, but does it cover this topic?

Just a bit of my background in case this is relevant:
I can't really play any instrument. I'm a keyboard newbie, though.
And the genre of my original band is somewhat rock'n'roll, hard rock, and perhaps doom metal (think of Black Sabbath) too. I think i do have a good ear and can often harmonize ad lib, but I have zero song-writing (ie vocal lines) experience...

Thanks for the help!!

Peace out!

Comments

• AlyonaAlyona Member, Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 288
    I heard somewhere two interesting tips -
    1 - if you have a text line - just listen to the silence first - then tell this line into the silence several times - tell it as if you are telling the story to someone - and then it can come up with a melody.
    and 2 - you play a chord on the piano and choose some sounds from that chord. Use this chord as a base for your melody, if the melody consists of half - predictable sound changes and half unpredictable - usually it makes a hit. Use some very simple melody line like several notes in a row and then add there some unpredictable jump.
    See if that works. Let me know if you tried!
  • AlvisAlvis Enrolled, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 117
    edited March 2018
    then tell this line into the silence several times - tell it as if you are telling the story to someone - and then it can come up with a melody.

if the melody consists of half - predictable sound changes and half unpredictable - usually it makes a hit.

Thanks for the pointers and sorry for the late reply, @Alyona ! I'll give it a go!

Does the Indie Bible in the Ken 2.0 pro pack cover this topic, too?