Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

New student having problems with phlegm/mucus. Please help! Link to video demonstration in the post.

WincklerMusicWincklerMusic STREAMING INTERMEDIATE Posts: 13
Hello my name is Rasmus.

I began with ktva around the 22. of February. Before that, I had been singing on and off for years and I never had any problems with phlegm or mucus. Anyway, I started practicing a lot and sang a lot, probably all too much. After a couple of days, I had a lot of phlegm/mucus in my throat. I then did a break and it got a bit better. Then I watched Ken's videos again and again because I thought I was doing something wrong which I still think. I began again slowly only 15 minutes a day and now the phlegm/mucus has come back. It seems to be because of the voice training.

Here is a video demonstration of me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GuE7Wg8vaqE

Please help.

Comments

• Furious_PhilFurious_Phil Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,421
    There is quite a wealth of information in this forum on that subject. Rather than trying to spout it off by rote, try the search function using either "phlegm" or "mucous" as a search parameter. ;)
  • WincklerMusicWincklerMusic STREAMING INTERMEDIATE Posts: 13
    But I could still use some feedback on the video I posted
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    You're doing the scales a little bit loud. We need to be able to hear the playback to compare it to your pitch.
    Your scales aren't causing mucus. Mucus is caused by your diet, illness, or by allergens. I don't know where you live, but it's spring time here, and everybody is taking allergy medication.

You were sniffing before you started singing. If you have post-nasal drip, that will get on your vocal cords.

A couple of your high notes were a little bit flat. Otherwise, pretty good.
    Okay, so I'm actually doing this properly? You don't notice any strain, tension or anything?