Home Vocal Health and Wellness

scratchy throat on one side when singing easy songs

I sing in church and find after a short time, I get a scratchy throat just on one side. What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• HuduVuduHuduVudu 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,818
    @gna I had tonsil stones that manifested almost entirely on one side of my tonsils. Maybe you have the same thing.
  • GNAGNA Enrolled Posts: 21
    Thanks Hudu, I think you may be on the right track. I haven't had mine out. I have noticed that area of my throat a little red after singing. I'll get more rest, drink more water and see what happens. Thanks.
  • doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Dear @GNA,

from a medical point of view (I am a medical doctor) it could be a good idea to let an ENT have a look on that.

Regards,
    Marco
  • GNAGNA Enrolled Posts: 21
    Thanks, did two days ago. ENT found Acid reflux causing the soreness and I started taking my Rx of Omeprzole as prescribed.
    Thank you so much. Doing better already.
  • doc_ramadanidoc_ramadani Administrator, 2.0 PRO, Facility Management Posts: 3,978
    Hi @GNA,

good to hear that we could help you.

Doc
  • Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    @HuduVudu how did you get rid of the tonsil stones?
    edited January 2019
    @Klaus_T I did two things. But first let me share with you my ENT's theory about tonsil stones. He believes that they are caused by acid reflux. I took that idea and tested it. From my experience it is a sound idea.