Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Musical Theatre/Opera Singer( w/ previous training) and Professional Rock Drummer

Hi everybody! I got KTVA's complete course for Christmas today and could not be more excited! A little about me, I'm 23,  I've been a drummer for 13 years, singer for the past 2 years and on top of that I'm a pianist, guitarist and bassist. In my two years of singing I have had a massive amount of training and have had leading roles in many musicals (The Rocky Horror Show, Cabaret and Spring Awakening). Acting (film, musical, commercial) is my day job, I'm with an Agency out here in Dallas, Texas and love every minute of it. 

But on to singing! I'm a high tenor with a very reliable, slightly over 3 octave range (A2-Bb5) in my opinion my voice has a good musical theatre sound, which is great for musicals, bad for when I write rock songs and need some "bite" to my voice. After watching many videos of Ken (unfortunately after learning first hand that Singing Success and Mastering Mix won't help my rock voice) and reading many posts on here I decided KTVA was something I needed desperately. Partially because Ken is phenomenal at explaining and demonstrating his technique and partially because of this forum here, I've never seen such support and genuine kindness on an internet forum before.

So real quick some issues with my voice that I hope to solve

1. Get a more rock/ belty sound safely 
2. add distortion safely
3. become better with my pitch and pitch control (this is a BIG one. I have ok pitch, but i tend to start songs off on wrong notes occasionally and would really like less guess work when hitting notes / more confidence)
4. I have poor voice control ex. runs, riffs, trills are very difficult for me, even doing major scales as quickly as Ken does is difficult for me, I have a bad habit of just "sliding" through scales rather than hitting each individual note.