Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Will correction of severe deviated septum improve singing ability?

Hi! I'm a semi professional musician and have longed to be able to sing well enough that people don't run away. I have GREAT ears and can easily hear when pitches are even 1 or 2 cents off. I never had the "pipes" to sing. And even though I know where to place the notes, it seems my aparatus (body/head) wants to reject the pitches, so they are forced into place with a very weak and unpleasant tone. I'm a trumpet player and it's almost like trying to play notes on the trumpet with all valves open when the notes call for one or more valves to be down.

I was hit in the face with a baseball as a kid and have never been able to breathe through my nose. But I'M HAVING SURGERY ON WEDNESDAY TO CORRECT THE DEVIATED SEPTUMS! Do you think this will give me any hope to improve my singing. [I'd be happy to sound as good as Willie Nelson (if you get the context of the reference)].

What do you think?

Best Answer

Answers

• vindibona1vindibona1 Member Posts: 3
    Thank you. Once I get this thing corrected and healed I think then it becomes worthwhile to pursue vocal training and instruction. As a former college music student I took class voice and hard as I tried getting a pitch to lock in just wasn't going to happen. One more thing... I cannot hear myself singing if there is any other louder music around me. I can do so if I plug one or both ears, but I know I'm listening to my head bones vibrate. I have a similar situation with trumpet. I don't recall having this issue when I was younger, but I sometime have a difficult time hearing myself and often wear ear plugs which seem to help hear myself as well as keeping me from over-blowing.