Home Vocal Health and Wellness

Very long Uvula

I have been working at singing for a very long time and still have a problem. I have a very long uvula that touches the back of my tongue. Even when I say it's the "la" it doesn't go up very much or even when I yawn. I am going flat a lot and when I go up it sounds as I am "pushing". Should I have it shortened? Am I just doomed and will never be able to sing ? Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Chris82Chris82 2.0 PRO Posts: 594
    edited August 2019
    I’m no expert but I wouldn’t have it shortened. All of our voices are unique to us and that’s because everyone’s vocal tract and anatomy are a little bit different. Having a longer uvula will more than likely have an effect on your timbre but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing since it will make your voice sound different than other peoples.

If you’re working on lifting your soft palate then you are more than likely new to singing and I would focus on mastering the basics first before considering surgery.

• carolbcarolb Pro Posts: 17
    Thanks Chris. I do have a darker timber. But I'm wondering, do you think it might be cutting off too much air thus making me go flat? or as you said, should I focus more on vowel modifications ?
  • Chris82Chris82 2.0 PRO Posts: 594
    I’d make sure you are singing with proper technique first. It could just be that your uvula is long but it could also be that you’re not lifting your soft palate high enough and not lowering your tongue low enough.
    Thanks Chris .
    I'm just wondering if anyone else out there has a uvula very long that it touches your tongue and that you can still sing well ?
  • WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042