Home Psychology of Singing

Why can't I sing with a mic but can do it acapella?

Hi guys.
First of all I gotta be honest with you all, I got the course in February but haven't been able to go past Vol 1. This basically because of a few things, mainly a vocal chord surgery and a rough divorce (what a combo) so right now I don't have a place to practice. I mostly practice in my car on the way to a gig. I'm a musician and do 2-4 gigs a week. Just with Vol 1 I've been able to grow my chest voice and add stamina to my performances and got rid of hoarseness all together. It was hard getting rid of years of bad habits but was worth it in the end. Lately I've "discovered" my head voice and have been able to song higher than ever before and have added tons of songs to my repertoire. My main problem is... even though I am used to singing with a PA or sound guy (mostly medium volume level PA gigs) I can't seem to stop over-singing in head voice. I start singing too loud, almost shouting, and can't hit the notes. When I practice by myself at a nice comfortable volume I can sing high songs easily with good tone and resonance. But with a mic I kinda get the feeling that I am almost competing with myself on the monitor. I've tried just plugging my ears and it sort of helps but I can't hear whats going on outside too well. I'm posting here since I figure if I can do it at home or in the car then I should be able to do it in front of a mic, so it's got to be psychological. I ordered some volume reducing ear plugs that I'll test out next week. Any tips or advice you can give me?

Answers

• cwcwcwcw 2.0 PRO Posts: 412
    First, I'm sorry to hear about your struggles. That's rough.