Home SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!

Question for working cover band singers

Hi...I've been singing for about 10 years in various original bands. About 6 months ago I got sick of playing to empty rooms and I decided to start up a country cover band. Its been a long road of trying out a million clowns from Craigslist but finally have a line up of pro-level players. Our practices are about 3 hours and I'm starting to notice that my voice is starting to kind of warble out towards the end of practice. Its freaking me out a bit as I'm expecting that within a few months I'm going to be doing 4 hour gigs at least once a week, probably more. Since starting this program about 2 months ago, my range has increased in a major way but my stamina isnt getting better. I'm on level 3 and have not started the stamina workouts yet because just the regular level 3 stuff is challenging enough. I sing about 4-6 hours a day between Ken workouts and repetoir practice. So I'd be interested in hearing from other singers that are working in cover bands and how they handled the major load without getting blown out by the end of the gig. Also any particular exercises that you noticed were really good at increasing endurance?

My thoughts are:
1. Patience....I keep reading this everywhere here, I know I've got a long way to go on this program
2. Managing the setlist so that the tougher songs arent back to back(that's tough for the last set of the night when you want to bring out most of your heavier upbeat songs)
3. Make sure I've got diaphramtic support dialed in
4. Glottal compression...sending less air
5. Lots of water

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406