Home INTRODUCE YOURSELF
Options

What's UP from Wyoming, USA

Hello fellow students. I have been singing for about 40 years unless you count earlier as a toddler singing Carpenter's songs from my parents' LP ("Top of the World" - badly). I started singing in church, then different plays, events and gatherings. There was a long period of time when I kind of forgot about singing until 7th grade when our US History assignment was to recite the Star Spangled Banner- but if you had the nerve to SING it, you got extra credit. I not only sang it, but it seemed so mind-blowing to the other students that we were talking about it after class, and just messing around I bellowed out some operatic note Pavarotti-style. This was so amusing to the other students that some laughed, and some were just dumbfounded. The next couple of weeks I'd get stopped all the time by different students asking me to do the note. I had been all but invisible before that. There were some cruel ones too though, and one time after I delivered the note, I was rewarded with a punch to the gut that doubled me over on the restroom floor. I've taken licks over singing more than once, but the positive always outweighed the rest. I was in Boys Chorus, then A Capella in high school. I was proud to sing at our Sweetheart's Ball in 1988, a lower key of Peter Cetera's, "The Glory of Love".