Homeโ€บ SHOW TIME - Band Rehearsals and Performance Day!!!

Playing guitar and sing - struggle with coordination/focus

Hey friends

I'm a guitarist and songwriter who was strongly encouraged/persuaded to sing. So, I don't have looots of background with sining.

I have never regretted that step and I've learnt to accept/love my voice. But I have a hard time to coordinate playing and sing in front of a crowd. Whether I focus on playing with soul or singing with my whole heart.

Either my playing sounds "clean"/ steril and flat or my singing seems to lose soul. It's not really about coordination I guess. I play/sing in tune but I struggle with my concentration and my focus. This obviously can be noticed in the studio.

Do you have same experiences? Any help or ideas?

PS: stop playing guitar is out of question :P (among other things `cause there is no other guitarist who shares our interests/goals and we attach great weight to our guitar work)

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    I'd love to hear a demo! You can post it in the student area first if you like under student demos if your not keen on everyone hearing an unpolished song. I'm not a musician by any means so I can't help with technique or anything like that unfortunately. My only thoughts would be alot of practice ๐Ÿ™‚
  • sabrina_CHsabrina_CH 2.0 PRO Posts: 10
    Yeah, "practise" is one of our top ten words in the band :D

Well, we have recently released our third album, so there are no demos/rough ideas right now - only polished songs :D But there will be soon. Thanks for the hint!
    Ahhh, now I know what you mean with demo...silly me, I misunderstood (fate of a non-nativ speaker)
    Ahh, now your first response makes sense ๐Ÿ˜ kudos to you and everyone that has English as a second language, because I've only got the one. I'd like to hear your studio stuff as well. Is it on any streaming sites?
    It's never to late to learn a language ;)