Home GENERAL SINGING - Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy Forum

Not tone deaf

Hey,
i had my another class yesterday and one thing is clear I CAN HEAR TONES but right now m not that good at relative pitch because m really new at this and i have no knowledge of piano or any other instrument to pick all this things just like that,
but my vocal voach is totally convencing me it is tone deaf but she is still not giving me any solution. She just keep saying find someone who can tell if you are on note or not at your home if i had someone like that at home why would i go to her.

Now m confused should i learn piano and stop singing cuz @tonesavy quiz is quite complicated

Please give me some help to clear my confusion HOW DO I SING WHAT I HEAR

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    don't let her discourage you. ear training isn't that quick. record yourself and post it here so we can tell you more.
  • sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    Hmmmmm, bad vocal coach I’d consider looking in to some one a little more helpful and encouraging. Yours is the second post I’ve seen like this. I don’t get why a vocal coach would feed you such negativity. They can help you with the basics of learning relative pitch. Don’t let that person get you down and consider finding someone a little more helpful and positive
  • WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    When you say you can hear tones, do you hear when someone is singing off pitch or in the wrong key?
  • priyapriya Member Posts: 7
    @Wigs No one is learning music in company so all other are proper singers but yes when i do my vocal exercises and sing do re mi i realise when m not reaching that pitch or when m too high
  • WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042