Home Newbies Demo Area - for those who want to test the waters!
Options

Looking for feedback on some songs I’ve recorded

Hello, my name is Joel Rose and I’ve been creating music at home as an outlet and a hobby for 20+ years now. I have no proper training, and none of it is properly mixed or mastered, etc. I’ve recorded all my stuff at home on my computer. I watched a bunch of Ken’s videos back in the day to get me started with things, so I figured I could start this potential journey here. I apologize for my lengthy post.

I haven’t really worked on anything in a decade due to health issues and taking care of my mom, and I was hoping I could get some feedback on a few tracks of my most recent efforts.

Unfortunately I’ve lost the original files for all my music a few years back in a computer crash, so the existing stuff I can’t really modify, it just is what it is at this point. I’d like to put it up online to see if there’s any interest in it, and maybe motivate me to get back into making more.

This stuff is incredibly indie and lo-fi, and I’ve tried numerous different styles over the years with singing. I use whispers, distortion effects, etc. A friend of mine wrote a guitar piece for the first track I have in the link. The others are more experimental, including a cover of the rock song Pet Semetary by The Ramones (horror movie fan). With these songs I tried to embrace the fact that I had little to no money to spend on my hobby, and thought something with a real guerrilla production might be cool and artistic, or maybe at the least an interesting novelty. I picked up an old Roland JV30 synthesizer/keyboard for $20 at a flea market, and made all the music by manually playing the keyboard for each element (drums, bass, etc.), and layering them together with an audio program on my computer. I use some sound effects here and there, and some effects on the vocals, but otherwise, it’s pretty raw.