Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS

leasing a song

I've been considering leasing a song for sometime just because im not experienced enough for legal possesses to release my own. I have come across a site for leasing agreements https://www.rocketsongs.com/ it seems pretty legit however i would definitely have an entertainment lawyer over look anything i sign, has anybody had any experience with them? is it good or bad? or have recommendations for a different source to lease songs? ive done some of my own research and multiple sites say that to studio record i would need a lease, to record a video even with my master recording i would still need an additional lease to make a music video, also if i wanted to utilize it in a live show that would also require a separate lease, i sent them an email regarding my research and they told me once i lease the song i can do all of that within the time period of the lease agreement, and do not require an additional one to perform live shows once my lease expires, and I'am more than eligible to renew my lease if i feel like I'm running out of time or if later i would like to re record, like i said i will definitely have an entertainment lawyer over look anything i sign, what do you guys think?
Thanks in advance

Comments

• WigsWigs Moderator, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 5,042
    Sorry I have never really looked into this aspect of sing covers.
  • bentkbentk Moderator, Pro, 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 1,650
    I also have no experience with this. Maybe some seasoned performers on the forum have experience with it?
  • highmtnhighmtn Administrator, Moderator, Enrolled, Pro, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 15,354
    edited April 2020
    It's expensive. My band leased about a dozen songs a few years back, from Harry Fox agency. I believe Sony now owns Harry Fox agency, but you can probably google them and get more information.