Home SINGER/SONGWRITERS

How to make good lyrics?

MelisaMelisa Member Posts: 10
I tryna make a song for my band, kind of hybrid genre. I get trouble when I finished my lyric but couldn't get a good feeling to make the riffs. Then I made the riffs first but I couldn't get feeling for the riffs if there's no lyrics LOL. It's my first time to write a song, so I still want to get your help about it.
Thankyou~

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    hi Melisa, yeah that's a tough question, it is pretty hard to write good lyrics.

you can read dozens of books about it. or you can also analyze your favourite lyrics. you can also "copy" the rhyme scheme and rhythm of a song that you like, basically using the reference song as a skeleton to make your own.

for me, i am pretty slow at writing songs, and i find that the process is different every time (do i start with lyrics or instrumental, do i write the chorus first, or the verse etc.)

stay consistent, try to write a little bit every day, it gets you in the flow over time a bit more.

some other random tips:

*use simple chord progressions first (C Am F G etc) so you understand what you are doing
    *try to mix general statements and personal feelings/impressions so that it is relatable to people that aren't you
    *end the verse with a strong line that is in keeping with the theme of the song and makes a statement people can relate to
    *if you have one weaker line and one stronger line, use the weaker line first, so that it resolves into the stronger, rather than the other way round (think of it as a pun that needs a strong ending)
    *try to make it sound as if someone would actually say this, use everyday phrases and don't use unusual words or change the order of words just because the pattern calls for it