Home Musical Gear and Equipment!!!

Home studio mics. What do you think

I’m more of a live guy than a studio guy so I’ve got no real background on studio mics. I know all about condenser sizes and pick up patterns etc but I’m wanting to get a mic in the $300 range and just curious what input you all might have. I’m looking at the at4040 have looked into the nt1 and some others in that price range. Just looking for others thoughts and experiences not limited to those two mics but limited to the $300 range thanks all!!

Comments

• Klaus_TKlaus_T Moderator, 2.0 PRO Posts: 2,406
    Lewitt are meant to be good, same thing for Aston, I haven't used either though. i have an AKG perception p220 which i think does the job alright
  • sjonrokz4usjonrokz4u 2.0 PRO Posts: 1,287
    Any other opinion anyone?
  • d1g2w3d1g2w3 Pro, 2.0 PRO Posts: 465
    I'm the same as you Shaun, my old trusty SM58 has never made me need to look into other mics :lol:
  • OliviaWenyaOliviaWenya 2.0 PRO, 3.0 Streaming Posts: 61
    Just remember room treatment :)
  • DogMeatDogMeat 2.0 PRO Posts: 437
    I've been veryy happy with my nt1. My sound-engineer friend called it a decent device for the price, and thats a huge compliment from him :smiley:
    Yeah I’m using a 58. I haven’t tried my beta 58 tried one of my beta 87s but I guess I get too close to them cuz I seem to over powerit. I used a cheap AT2020 at a buddy’s house and it sounded good so it’s got me thinking about a large condenser for at home. I see some the more advanced course people have posted videos where they have lcd mics hopingnone of them will chime in
  • gotmixesgotmixes Member Posts: 8
    edited June 2020
    Max Norman (engineer/producer) interview:

"KNAC.COM: What was it like working with Paul Rogers in the studio?